COVID-19 Information & Updates


Annapolis Area Christian School campuses will remain closed for the balance of the 2019-2020 school year  to all faculty, staff, students, and visitors. Academic operations continue during this time through distance teaching and  learning. There will be no co-curricular or extra-curricular school-sponsored activities, including all athletic games and practices during the closure. Additionally, we have canceled all rentals of our facilities through May 15.  Frequently asked questions, tips for helping your student cope with anxiety about COVID-19, and all current and previous communications that pertain to COVID-19 and related changes to the AACS Eagle experience are conveniently located here. We invite you to check back often for the latest information and updates . 


 

Questions?
Please review the AACS Reopening Plan.

K-12 FACILITIES CLEANING & 9-12 SAGE DINING
Bill Schuman at bschuman@aacsonline.org

EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT
ALS Carolyn Beall, cbeall@aacsonline.org
SLS, Charlotte Hudlow, chudlow@aacsonline.org
MS (Grades 6 and 8) Susan Liga, sliga@aacsonline.org
MS (Grade 7) Lauren Eberle, leberle@aacsonline.org
US, Megan Lamb, mlamb@aaccsonline.org


 

ATHLETICS
Josiah Wolf, jwolf@aacsonline.org

TRANSPORTATION
Andrea Fador, afador@aacsonline.org

All other questions...
PRINCIPALS
US, Jason Burrell, jburrell@aacsonline.org
MS, Ben Peddicord, bpeddicord@aacsonline.org
ALS, Elizabeth Williams, ewilliams@aacsonline.org
SLS, Karl Graustein, kgraustein@aacsonline.org

   

 

ALL AACS K-12 COVID-19 emails are in chronological order in the Communications Archive at the bottom of this page.

A new type of coronavirus, abbreviated COVID-19, is causing an outbreak of respiratory (lung) disease. It was first detected in China in December 2019. The World Health Organization officially declared COVID-19 a pandemic on March 11, 2020.

Concern over this new virus can make children and families anxious. While we don’t know where and to what extent the disease may spread here in the United States, we do know that it is contagious, that the severity of illness can vary from individual to individual, and that there are steps we can take to prevent the spread of infection. Acknowledging some level of concern, without panicking, is appropriate and can result in taking actions that reduce the risk of illness. Helping children cope with anxiety requires providing accurate prevention information and facts without causing undue alarm.

It is very important to remember that children look to adults for guidance on how to react to stressful events. If parents seem overly worried, children’s anxiety may rise. Parents should reassure children that health and school officials are working hard to ensure that people throughout the country stay healthy. However, children also need factual, age-appropriate information about the potential seriousness of disease risk and concrete instruction about how to avoid infection and spread of disease. Teaching children positive preventive measures, talking with them about their fears, and giving them a sense of some control over their risk of infection can help reduce anxiety.

Find the complete resource from the National Association of School Psychologists and the National Association of School Nurses here.